Nelson Havi Replaced By Advocate Eric Theuri
Hilda Muchiri
1 year ago

Eric Theuri has been elected as the 50th president of the Law Society o Kenya (LSK) after he won the elections held on Thursday, March 10.

He succeeded former President and Westlands Parliamentary seat aspirant Nelson Havi who was at the helm of the society since February 2020 and will serve in the position for the next two years.

Theuri who is a corporate audit specialist and advocate was declared the winner by the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) in all the 25 designated LSK polling centers nationwide.

He garnered 1811 votes, trouncing outgoing vice president Caroline Kamende who got 1085 votes beating the former LSK vice-president Caroline Kamende by 726 votes at national polls held on Thursday, March 10.

He also beat former LSK Council Members Omwanza Ombati, Coast Branch chairman Mathew Nyabena and Bernard Kipkoech, who once served as LSK treasurer.

Nelson Havi, the former president while acknowledging Theuri's victory, noted that he would support the newly elected president.

"My Friend Theuri Eric Njeru, the weight of public office will for two years weigh heavily on shoulders as the 50th President of LSK. Unlike my predecessor, I will let you work and support you, should you require my counsel. May you succeed where I failed and improve on what I did," Havi stated.

His election was further affirmed by the society's seven-member elections board headed by senior counsel Janmohamed Zehrabanu.