De Bruyne follows the footsteps of Thierry Henry and Cristiano Ronaldo
Delyne Bosibori
7 months ago

Manchester City attacking midfielder Kevin De Bruyne has yet again scoped the Premier League prestigious acolades outshinning Tottenham Hotspurs striker Harry Kane.

The Belgium talisman has now emulated Cristiano Ronaldo and Thierry Henry by scooping the PFA Player of the Year award for a second successive year. De Bruyne has now joined United legend Ronaldo and former Arsenal star Henry as the only players to win the PFA accolade two years on the bounce, and expressed his delight.

"The fact the players chose me for this award means that I've done very well," said the 29-year-old.

"You want to win all the trophies with the team and this is probably the most important one as an individual trophy in the league. To be voted by your competitors, by players who you compete with every game - to choose you, that says a lot," he added.